Call for Papers

July 10-13, 2018

Tianjin, China


The China International Conference in Finance (CICF) provides an open platform to bring together scholars worldwide to present current research and stimulate exchanges on new developments in finance. Over the years, CICF has grown to be one of the leading conferences in financial research in the world. The next conference will be held from July 10 to July 13, 2018 in the port city of Tianjin.



Papers in all areas of finance are welcome. The conference follows the format of major international conferences. In addition, we would like to encourage authors to submit to the special session on China Focus.



Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



School of Finance, Nankai University

Shanghai Advanced Institute of Finance (SAIF), Shanghai Jiao Tong University



Robert Merton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology & Nobel Laureate



Yihong Xia Best Paper Awards (2, US$1,000 each) for promising young scholars, sponsored by Friends of Yihong Xia

CICF Best Paper Awards (3, US$1,000 each), sponsored by the conference

XiYue Best Paper Awards (2, US$1,000 each), sponsored by XY Investments LLC



Authors are invited to submit completed papers. Papers will be selected by the Program Committee consisting of a panel of international scholars. Please submit your papers in electronic format (PDF files only) to:

Paper submission deadline: Extended to February 5, 2018.

The submitting authors will be notified of the Program Committee's decision by April 15, 2018.





Jiang Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Jun Pan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Hui Chen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


PROGRAM COMMITTEE (confirmed of attendance as of 2/26/2018 and in alphabetical order)

Reena Aggarwal, Georgetown University

Andres Almazan, The University of Texas at Austin

Doron E. Avramov, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

Efraim Benmelech, Northwestern University

Andrea Buraschi, Imperial College London

Ling Cen, University of Toronto-Scarborough

Kalok Chan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Joseph Chen, University of California, Davis

Lin William Cong, The University of Chicago

Henrik Cronqvist, University of Miami

Zhi Da, University of Notre Dame

Sudipto Dasgupta, Lancaster University and the Chinese University of Hong Kong

Jerome Detemple, Boston University

Jefferson Duarte, Rice University

Vyacheslav (Slava) Fos, Boston College

Denis Gromb, HEC Paris

Bing Han, University of Toronto

Zhiguo He, The University of Chicago

Harrison Hong, Columbia University

Kewei Hou, The Ohio State University

Jennifer Huang, Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business

Kose John, New York University

Shimon Kogan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology & Arison School of Business, IDC Herzliya

Chen Lin, The University of Hong Kong

Hong Liu, Washington University in St. Louis

Jun Liu, University of California San Diego

Laura Xiaolei Liu, Peking University

Xuewen Liu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Deborah Lucas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Christian T. Lundblad, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Neil Pearson, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Lin Peng, The City University of New York, Baruch College

Yiming Qian, The University of Iowa

Hong Ru, Nanyang Technological University in Singapore

Stephan Siegel, University of Washington

Zheng (Michael) Song, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Qian Sun, Fudan University

Dragon Yongjun Tang, The University of Hong Kong

Geoffrey Tate, The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Xuan Tian, PBC School of Finance, Tsinghua University

Rossen Valkanov, University of California San Diego

Yongxiang Wang, University of Southern California

Yuhai Xuan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Hong Yan, Shanghai Advanced Institute of Finance, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Hongjun Yan, DePaul University

Liyan Yang, University of Toronto

Xiaoyun Yu, Indiana University

Bohui Zhang, The University of New South Wales

Harold Zhang, University of Texas at Dallas

Hong Zhang, PBC School of Finance, Tsinghua University

Xiaoyan Zhang, Purdue University

Hao Zhou, PBC School of Finance, Tsinghua University

Xiaodong Zhu, University of Toronto